What Veganism Really Is

Before I start posting more on my blog, I thought that it might be a good idea to actually explain what being vegan means.

If I was to explain what being vegan meant to someone, I’d say that it’s a way of living that doesn’t rely on animals. The actual definition of vegan is a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose. That’s basically all it is. How extreme and weird is veganism (note the obvious sarcasm, being vegan is anything but extreme or weird).

A vegan won’t eat anything that comes from an animal (meat, dairy, eggs, etc.). Which means vegans only eat things that come from plants or the ground.

A vegan doesn’t purchase or wear clothing that are made of animal skin, fur, etc. This includes things like leather and wool.

A vegan doesn’t buy or use cosmetics/products that contain animal products or have been tested on animals.

A vegan doesn’t support or go to places that hold animals captive for entertainment and money. This includes circuses, some pet stores and zoos.

Being vegan is so rewarding and easier than most people think. I’m looking forward to showing people this through my blog.

9macey

One Comment

  1. To us non-vegans, it seems very hard to avoid animal anything. I have given up red meat and am eating less chicken but not sure what to eat instead. So I am very interested in learning from your blog Macey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *