HOW TO GET RID OF A COLD -part 1

For these past few days I’ve had a killer cold because spring has just begun and I always seem to only get colds around this time. Yesterday I wasn’t going to come to school but decided to after I had a shower and felt a little better. At school that quickly changed and I went back to having a slow/dizzy head, a blocked nose, sore throat, tired eyes and a tired body. Last year when I got the same kind of cold it was much worse. I remember thinking something was seriously wrong with me due to how bad my head was feeling (it was like a headache but much more different, it’s difficult to describe). After a full day of feeling like complete rubbish and not being able to do anything, I decided to take action and try to get rid of my cold because it was honestly so horrible. I painfully managed to drag myself outside and lay in the sun on a yoga mat with a pillow and a towel as a blanket, it felt so good to be in the sun. It was then time for dinner and I didn’t know what to eat, so I researched foods that can help get rid of colds. A few foods that I came across were ginger, broccoli and garlic. I drank some ginger beer and immediately felt better, which made me able to make a proper dinner of stir-fried veggies and rice with lots of broccoli and garlic. After my ginger beer, dinner and a lay in the sun I really did feel better, without the use of any medicines. I don’t necessarily like having any medicine since they kind of scare me and I think they aren’t very good for you if it’s just for the sake of not feeling normal pain that the average human has the ability to experience. I used to only take Panadol when I had headaches, now I rarely get headaches but when I do I drink lots of water and have a good old sleep, when I wake up it’s gone. The point of this post is to I guess tell you that it’s possible to feel better by just the things you do and the foods you eat. I’m not against medicines or pain killers and I know that sometimes some people really do NEED them, but I prefer not to have them and I feel like my body and immune system gets stronger by treating it naturally rather than relying on chemicals to do it for me.

9macey

One Comment

  1. I am 100% with you Macey. It feels a lot nicer when you can get yourself better without using western medicines. I think it is probably better for your body too than feeding it chemicals. Though we are lucky to have the medicines and options we’ve got now, as sometimes there is nothing else we can do.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *